For Immediate Release
March 20, 2013

State Board recognizes Illinois Honor Roll schools in Monroe, Randolph and St. Clair counties

Annual list recognizes improving and high-performing schools across the state

BELLEVILLE — State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch and Illinois State Board of Education members recognized 17 schools from St. Clair, Monroe and Randolph counties today (Wednesday, March 20) for being named to the 2012 Illinois Honor Roll. The schools were honored during a school assembly at Westhaven Elementary School in Belleville.

“At a time when many districts are being asked to do more with less, these schools are rising to the occasion. The educators, parents and students should be especially proud of these accomplishments,” said Superintendent Koch. “I am honored to be here today at Westhaven Elementary to recognize these academic achievements.”

Westhaven Elementary School received its second consecutive Academic Excellence award this year. The school also was named a Spotlight School from 2003 to 2007.

The latest Illinois Honor Roll list includes 624 schools across the state. There are about 4,000 public schools in Illinois. The Honor Roll is divided into three categories – Spotlight Schools, Academic Excellence and Academic Improvement. Each award has unique criteria that best reflect the diverse circumstances of Illinois schools.

The schools recognized today in Belleville were:

Distrct School Award
Belleville SD 118 Westhaven Elementary School Excellence
Cahokia CUSD 187 Penniman Elementary School Improvement
Columbia CUSD 4 Columbia Middle School Excellence
Parkview Elementary School Excellence
Coulterville USD 1 Coulterville Junior High School Spotlight
East St Louis SD 189 Brown Elementary School Spotlight/Excellence
Jackson Elementary School Spotlight
James Avant Elementary School Improvement
Grant CCSD 110 Grant Middle School Improvement
Lebanon CUSD 9 Lebanon High School Improvement
Mascoutah CUD 19 Scott Elementary School Excellence
Millstadt CCSD 160 Millstadt Consolidated School Excellence
Shiloh Village SD 85 Shiloh Elementary School Excellence
Sparta CUSD 140 Sparta Primary Attendance Center Improvement
Valmeyer CUSD 3 Valmeyer Junior High School Excellence
Wolf Branch SD 113 Wolf Branch Elementary School Excellence
Wolf Branch Middle School Excellence

The 2012 Honor Roll roster contains elementary, middle and high schools, including charter schools, and represents 293 public school districts statewide. Downstate schools represent 39 percent of the Honor Roll schools, suburban schools represent 49 percent and Chicago schools make up the final 12 percent this year. The schools earned a total of 640 awards in the three categories.

Northern Illinois University works with ISBE to establish criteria, identify winners of the awards and administer the Illinois Honor Roll. A complete listing of the 2012 Illinois Honor Roll Schools can be found online at


Follow us: follow us on facebookfollow us on Twitter Visit the official ISBE website at