For Immediate Release
January 28, 2013

More than 600 schools recognized for exemplary performance on 2012 Illinois Honor Roll

Annual list shows continued and improved academic achievement as state moves toward new accountability system in 2014

SPRINGFIELD — The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) and Northern Illinois University (NIU) announced today that 624 schools made the Illinois Honor Rollfor their continued academic progress or excellence. The state’s annual recognition program, based on the previous spring’s state standardized tests and demographic information, shows 50 schools that are being recognized for the ninth or tenth consecutive year. All of these outstanding schools are being honored for their accomplishments in making progress toward or maintaining academic excellence.

“These Honor Roll schools once again show us that rigorous standards, great instruction and lots of hard work improve student performance,” said State Board of Education Chairman Gery J. Chico. “Behind each school’s success is an untold story of extraordinary passion and dedication on behalf of administrators, teachers, parents and students. We commend each school and hope local community members will also celebrate their local schools’ success.”

On Monday, State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch visited Community Consolidated School District 59’s John Jay Elementary School, one of three schools in the state to win the Academic Improvement Award four times, to recognize the Mt. Prospect elementary and a dozen other local schools.

“Your schools are among a very special list,” said State Superintendent Koch “You are among 624 schools out of nearly 4,000 public schools in the state named to the Illinois Honor Roll of 2012. This is a tremendous achievement. Your schools have shown a remarkable ability to overcome challenges, to make significant leaps of improvement and, in many cases, to consistently show high academic achievement.

Northern Illinois University works with ISBE to establish criteria, identify winners of the awards and administer the Illinois Honor Roll, which is divided into three categories – Spotlight Schools, Academic Excellence and Academic Improvement. Each award has unique criteria that best reflect the diverse circumstances of Illinois schools.

The 2012 Honor Roll roster includes elementary, middle and high schools, including charter schools, and represents 293 public school districts statewide. Downstate schools represent 39 percent of the Honor Roll schools, suburban schools represent 49 percent and Chicago schools make up the final 12 percent this year. The schools earned a total of 640 awards in the three categories.

The following districts earned the most awards:

Winning Schools
Total District Schools
City of Chicago SD 299
Indian Prairie CUSD 204
Schaumburg CCSD 54

Other 2012 Illinois Honor Roll facts:

Four-Year Winners of the Academic Improvement Award
George Washington Elementary School
Donovan Junior High School
John Jay Elementary School
Mt. Prospect

Winners of Both Spotlight Schools and Academic Excellence Awards
George W Lieb Elementary School
Carlinville Primary School
Chopin Elementary School
Owen Elementary Scholastic Academy
Frazier International Magnet Elementary School
Cypress Elementary School
Brown Elementary School
East St. Louis
Ewing-Northern Elementary School
Havana Junior High School
Glen Oaks Elementary School
Hickory Hills
Johnsonville Elementary School
Arcadia Elementary School
Olympia Fields
Norwood Primary School
Coretta Scott King Magnet School
University Park
William F. Murphy Elementary School

A complete listing of the 2012 Illinois Honor Roll Schools can be found online at


Follow us: follow us on facebookfollow us on Twitter Visit the official ISBE website at