For Immediate Release
April 29, 2013

ISBE visits Marion to recognize Honor Roll schools in Southern Illinois

Annual list recognizes improving and high-performing schools from across the state

MARION — State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch recognized 16 schools in Southern Illinois today (Monday, April 29) for being named to the 2012 Illinois Honor Roll. The schools celebrated during a school assembly at Jefferson Elementary School in Marion represented 12 districts from Alexander, Franklin, Johnson, Massac, Pulaski, Union, Wabash, Wayne and Williamson counties.

“With hard work and dedication, these Southern Illinois schools are posting great results,” said Superintendent Koch. “I hope that educators, staff, families and communities here will take time to celebrate their achievements as we all work to ensure that every student is prepared to succeed in college and career.”

The 2012 Illinois Honor Roll lists 624 schools from nearly 4,000 public schools in Illinois. The Honor Roll is divided into three categories – Spotlight Schools, Academic Excellence and Academic Improvement. Each award has unique criteria that best reflect the diverse circumstances of Illinois schools.

Ewing-Northern Grade School in Franklin County, Johnsonville Elementary School in Wayne County and Cypress Elementary School in Johnson County are three of only 15 schools from across the state that earned both Spotlight Schools and Academic Excellence awards this year.

Illinois State Board of Education Members Melinda A. LaBarre, a former teacher, principal and school board member and Andrea S. Brown, a former teacher, district superintendent and regional superintendent, joined Superintendent Koch in recognizing the following schools Monday:

District School Award
Allendale CCSD 17 Allendale Elementary School Spotlight
Cairo USD 1 Cairo Jr./Sr. High School Improvement
Century CUSD 100 Century Jr./Sr. High School Improvement
Cypress SD 64 Cypress Elementary School Spotlight and Excellence
Ewing-Northern CCSD 115 Ewing-Northern Elementary School Spotlight and Excellence
Frankfort CUSD 168 Frankfort Community High School Improvement
Central Jr. High School Improvement
Johnston City CUSD 1 Lincoln Elementary School Spotlight
Marion CUSD 2 Jefferson Elementary School Spotlight
Massac UD 1 Jefferson Elementary School Excellence
Franklin Elementary School Excellence
New Hope CCSD 6 New Hope Elementary School Excellence
North Wayne CUSD 200 Cisne Middle School Spotlight
Mount Erie Elementary School Excellence
Johnsonville Elementary School Spotlight and Excellence
Shawnee CUSD 84 Shawnee Elementary School – South Spotlight

The 2012 Honor Roll roster contains elementary, middle and high schools, including charter schools, and represents 293 public school districts statewide. Downstate schools represent 39 percent of the Honor Roll schools, suburban schools represent 49 percent and Chicago schools make up the final 12 percent this year. The schools earned a total of 640 awards in the three categories.


Follow us: follow us on facebookfollow us on Twitter Visit the official ISBE website at