For Immediate Release
April 22, 2013

Twenty DuPage County Illinois Honor Roll Schools Presented With Awards

Annual list recognizes improving and high-performing schools across the state

ITASCA — State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch recognized 20 schools from DuPage County today, April 22, for being named to the 2012 Illinois Honor Roll. The schools were honored Monday morning during an assembly at F. E. Peacock Middle School in Itasca.

“It is so important we take the time to recognize excellent schools and share their many success strategies,” said Superintendent Koch. “These schools stand out and prove we can make sure every student is prepared for the next level of education and ready to do great things in their careers and communities. These awards reflect the dedication and collaboration of many educators, parents and of course, students.”

The 2012 Illinois Honor Roll lists 624 schools from nearly 4,000 public schools in Illinois. The Honor Roll is divided into three categories – Spotlight Schools, Academic Excellence and Academic Improvement. Each award has unique criteria that best reflect the diverse circumstances of Illinois schools.

DuPage County holds the second highest number of Honor Roll schools in the state with 81 schools receiving at least one award for a total that is just below Cook County. Today’s ceremony recognized just a portion of the DuPage County Honor Roll schools. A complete listing of the 2012 Illinois Honor Roll schools and additional information can be found online at

The schools recognized today in Itasca were:

District School Award
Benjamin SD 25 Benjamin Middle School Excellence
Evergreen Elementary School Excellence
Bensenville SD 2 Mohawk Elementary School Spotlight
Bloomingdale SD 13 Erickson Elementary School Excellence
Westfield Middle School Excellence
CCSD 93 Heritage Lakes Elementary School Excellence
Hinsdale CCSD 181 Clarendon Hills Middle School Excellence
Elm Elementary School Excellence
Hinsdale Middle School Excellence
Madison Elementary School Excellence
Monroe Elementary School Excellence
Oak Elementary School Excellence
Prospect Elementary School Excellence
The Lane Elementary School Excellence
Walker School Excellence
Itasca SD 10 Elmer H. Franzen Intermediate School Excellence
F. E. Peacock Middle School Excellence
Lombard SD 44 Park View Elementary School Excellence
William Hammerschmidt Elementary School Excellence
Winfield SD 34 Winfield Central School Excellence

The 2012 Honor Roll roster contains elementary, middle and high schools, including charter schools, and represents 293 public school districts statewide. Downstate schools represent 39 percent of the Honor Roll schools, suburban schools represent 49 percent and Chicago schools make up the final 12 percent this year. The schools earned a total of 640 awards in the three categories.


Follow us: follow us on facebookfollow us on Twitter Visit the official ISBE website at