For Immediate Release
November 18, 2012

Illini Central School Board President receives Thomas Lay Burroughs Award

Ron Moehring presented with statewide honor by ISBE at education conference in Chicago


MASON CITY – The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) selected Ron Moehring of Illini Central School District 189 as the 2012 recipient of the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award, which annually honors an outstanding school board president in the state. Moehring has served 17 years as president of his local school board and 27 years total.

“Ron Moehring’s volunteerism and lifelong commitment to his community is impressive,” said State Board of Education Chairman Gery J. Chico. “It’s clear that he has a passion for doing what is best for the children of Illini Central School District.”

Moehring, a farmer and lifelong resident of San Jose, first served on the school board in his hometown before playing a key role in the district’s 1989 consolidation with Mason City and Easton to form the Illini Central School District. He was among the new district’s first school board members and became president in 1995.

In recent years, Moehring oversaw implementation of several initiatives, including a new grade school language arts curriculum, the new Common Core State Standards and Response to Intervention (RtI), a teaching approach that ensures all children are supported in the learning process. He also helped establish the Illini Central Learning Academy in August 2012 to provide an alternative learning environment for students at risk for expulsion.

Illini Central is one of the 35 school districts participating in Illinois’ Race to the Top program, making it a leader in the state in implementing key education initiatives to improve school performance and student achievement.

“I don’t know that I’ve done anything special to deserve this. I’ve worked with some strong administrators and Board members, and our teachers and support staff are among the best in Illinois,” Moehring said. “I simply put in my time, kept my focus on what’s best for kids and allowed our staff to focus on preparing our students to succeed after they graduate.”

In her nominating letter, Illini Central School District 189 Superintendent Lori Harrison also cited Moehring’s actions earlier this school year when a high school student was suspected of having a weapon in school and the district went on lockdown. Moehring quickly arrived on the scene and helped lead the district to a safe conclusion for students and staff. 

“Mr. Ron Moehring has been a blessing to Illini Central and to thousands of students and staff,” Harrison wrote in her nomination letter.  “He has a dedication, loyalty and love of the Illinois students, staff and community that is second to none.”

ISBE created the award for school board presidents in 1991 to honor Thomas Lay Burroughs who served as chairman of the State Board of Education and the Board of Education for the Collinsville School District. The award recognizes extraordinary educational leadership at the local level, including leadership:

Ron Moehring received the 2012 Thomas Lay Burroughs Award on Sunday, Nov. 18 in Chicago during the joint annual conference of the Illinois Association of School Boards, the Illinois Association of School Administrators and Illinois Association of School Business Officials.

Recent winners of the Thomas Lay Burroughs Award include Shelly Marks of Homewood School District 153 (2011), Paula Dupont of Burr Ridge Community Consolidated School District 180 (2010), Fred G. Huddlestun of Jasper County Consolidated Unit School District 1 (2009), Joanne Zendol Berwyn South School District 100 (2008) and Mark C. Metzger Indian Prairie Community Unit School District 204 (2007).


Follow us: follow us on facebookfollow us on Twitter Visit the official ISBE website at