For Immediate Release
March 9, 2012

State Board celebrates success of 11 Central Illinois Honor Roll Schools

Annual list recognizes improving and high-performing schools across state

DANVILLE — Illinois State Board of Education Chairman Gery J. Chico, Board member David Fields and State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch recognized 11 Ford, Champaign and Vermilion County schools today for being named to the 2011 Illinois Honor Roll. The schools were honored during a school assembly at Northeast Magnet Elementary School in Danville.

“This is a remarkable list of 11 schools that have maintained or improved academic performance amid rising benchmarks and a tough economy,’’ said Chairman Chico. “We hope students, educators, parents and community members will celebrate their success because they are the ones responsible for these good and improving results.”

Chairman Chico, Board member Fields and State Superintendent Koch also toured Danville’s New Tech High School campus earlier in the day. The school, opened at the onset of the 2009-10 school year, emphasizes project-based learning and technology within small class sizes. State Board members visit innovative schools across the state as they work to develop educational priorities and ensure all students are prepared to succeed in college and careers.

The 2011 Illinois Honor Roll recognizes 703 schools across the state for their continued academic progress. The honor roll is divided into three categories – Spotlight Schools, Academic Excellence and Academic Improvement. Each award has unique criteria that best reflect the diverse circumstances of Illinois schools.

The 11 schools honored Friday: