For Immediate Release
June 9, 2010

State Board Awards Nearly $1 Million to Improve School Cafeterias

Funds distributed among schools that serve low-income students

SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois State Board of Education today announced the agency has awarded nearly $1 million in federal funds to improve cafeterias in some of Illinois’ neediest schools. The competitive federal grants were awarded to 57 schools in 43 districts and academic centers that participate in the National School Lunch Program to improve the quality of the meals, increase energy efficiency of cafeteria operations and boost participation in school meal programs.

"This money will help schools make strides toward improving nutrition and access to our free and reduced lunch program," said State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch. "We know that good nutrition helps child development and ensures students are ready to learn."

Schools participating in the National School Lunch Program and those that did not receive a FY09 NSLP equipment Assistance Grant under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) were eligible to apply for the competitive grant. Participating sites had to have at least 50 percent of students eligible for free and reduced-priced meals.

The State Board will administer $903,000 in grants to NSLP programs. The minimum award under the National School Lunch Program Equipment Assistance Grant is $500. The grants may be used to purchase new equipment, renovate or replace equipment. Schools and facilities had to identify in their application at least one of the following federally mandated priorities:

Award Amount
Brownstown CUSD 201 Brownstown Elementary
Beecher  CUSD 20 Beecher City Grade
Griggsville-Perry CUSD 4 Griggsville-Perry CUSD 4 Prim
Uno Charter School Network Uno Charter School
Rich Township HS Dist 227 Rich East High School
East Moline SD 37 Glenview Middle School
Berwyn South SD 100 Freedom Middle School
Pikeland CUSD 10 Pikeland Community School
Hoover-Schrum Memorial SD 157 Hoover Elementary
Rantoul City SD 137 J.W. Eater Jr High School
Broadmeadow Elementary School
Eastlawn Elementary School
Northview Elementary  School
Pleasant Acres Elementary School
Murphysboro CUSD 186 Murphysboro Middle School
Matteson SD 162 Sauk Elementary Schoo
lRichton Square School
Calumet City SD 155 Wentworth Intermediate School
Centralia City Schools 135 Centralia Jr High School
Schiller Elementary
Vienna 55 Vienna Elementary School
Champaign CUSD 4 Booker T. Washington
Garden Hills Elementary
North Greene Unit District 3 White Hall Elementary School
Momence CUSD 1 Momence Jr High School
Calumet Public School District 132 Burr Oak Elementary School
Calumet Elementary School
Jasper Co CUSD 1 Newton Elementary
Willow Hill
Ste. Marie Elementary
Luka CCSD 7 Luka Grade School
Pleasant Hill SD 69 Pleasant Hill School
Hope School The Hope School
Glenwood School Glenwood School
Norris City-Omaha-Enfield CUSD 3 Booth Elementary School
Iroquois County CUSD 9 Glenn Raymond School
Lake County Juvenile Detention Center Lake County Juvenile Detention Center
Georgetown-Ridge Farm Unit 4 Mary Miller Jr High School
Central City SD 133 Central City Elementary
Bethalto CUSD 8 Bethalto West Elementary School
Jacksonville SD 117 Franklin Middle School
Lincoln Elementary School
Laraway CCSD 70 Oak Valley School
Laraway School
Danville CCSD 118 East Park Elementary
South View Middle School
Cannon Elementary
Meridian CUSD 101 Meridian Elementary School
Effingham CUSD 40 South Side Grade School
Mt. Vernon SD 80 J.L. Buford Intermediate Education Center
Bethel Grade SD 82 Bethel Grade School
Meredosia Chambersburg Unit District 11 Meredosia Chambersburg
Elementary School
Beacon Hill Preparatory Academy Beacon Hill Preparatory Academy
Community Education Network Village Leadership Academy
Children's Home and Aid Society Daniel F & Ada L. Rice Ed Center
Joliet Public SD 86 Washington Jr High School
Children's Center for Behavioral Development Children's Center For Behavioral Development