For Immediate Release 
Wednesday, May 6, 2009

State Superintendent celebrates success of 19 Illinois Honor Roll Schools in Boone and Winnebago Counties

Annual list recognizes improving and high-performing schools across the state

LOVES PARK – Illinois State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch recognized 19 Rockford-area schools today for being named to the 2008 Illinois Honor Roll.

“These awards reflect the dedication and hard work of school administrators, teachers, parents and students,’’ said Superintendent Koch. “We need to celebrate such academic success in our homes and communities."

The 19 schools were recognized at 10 a.m. at the Boone/Winnebago Regional Office of Education in Loves Park.

Earlier this year, the Illinois State Board of Education announced that 989 schools were named to the 2008 Illinois Honor Roll in recognition of their continued academic progress.

A complete listing of the 2008 Illinois Honor Roll Schools can be found online at

The 2008 Illinois Honor Roll includes 989 schools that are being recognized for their continued academic progress. The honor roll is divided into three categories – Spotlight Schools; Academic Excellence and Academic Improvement. Each award has unique criteria that best reflect the diverse circumstances of Illinois schools.

The schools honored:

Belvidere Community Unit School District 100
Perry Elementary School (Spotlight)

Harlem Unit District 122
Loves Park Elementary (Spotlight)

Rockford School District 205
AC Thompson Elementary School (Spotlight)
C Henry Bloom Elemementary School (Spotlight)
Gregory Elementary School (Spotlight)
Maud E Johnson Elementary (Spotlight)
Montessori Magnet School (Spotlight)
New Milford Elementary School (Spotlight)
Rolling Green School (Spotlight)
Washington Gifted School (Academic Excellence)
Rolling Green/MUHL School (Spotlight)

Rockton School District 140
Stephen Mack Middle School (Academic Excellence)
Whitman Post Elementary School (Academic Excellence)

Kinnikinnick Community Consolidated School District  131
Stone Creek (Academic Excellence)

Winnebago School District 320
Blackhawk Elementary (Spotlight)
Riverview Elementary (Spotlight)
South Beloit Jr High (Spotlight)
South Beloit High School (Academic Improvement)

Durand Community Unit School District 322
Durand High School (Academic Improvement)

The 2008 honor roll roster includes elementary, middle and high schools, including charter schools, and represents 345 school districts statewide. Suburban schools represent 43 percent of the Honor Roll schools, downstate schools account for another 40 percent and Chicago schools make up the final 17 percent this year. The 989 schools earned a total of 1,040 awards in the three categories.

Developed by Northern Illinois University and ISBE in 2003-4, the Illinois Honor Roll is created each year at NIU. A complete listing of the 2008 Illinois Honor Roll Schools can be found online at