For Immediate Release 
Monday, March 30, 2009

State Superintendent celebrates success of 34 Illinois Honor Roll Schools in Southern Illinois 

Annual list recognizes improving and high-performing schools across the state

MARION– Illinois State Superintendent of Education Christopher A. Koch recognized 34 Southern Illinois Schools today for being named to the 2008 Illinois Honor Roll. The 34 schools honored for their achievement are from nine counties and 20 districts.

“Making the Illinois Honor Roll represents the hard work and dedication put forth in the classroom and at home everyday,’’ said Superintendent Koch. “It is an achievement that principals, teachers, parents and students should celebrate together.’’

The 2008 Illinois Honor Roll includes 989 schools that are being recognized for their continued academic progress. The honor roll is divided into three categories – Spotlight Schools; Academic Excellence and Academic Improvement. Each award has unique criteria that best reflect the diverse circumstances of Illinois schools.

The 34 schools recognized Monday have earned 31 spotlight awards, three academic improvement awards and one Academic Excellence Award. They are:

DeSoto Consolidated School District 86
DeSoto Elementary School – Spotlight
Elverado Junior High School – Spotlight
Elverado Primary School – Spotlight   
Elverado Intermediate School – Spotlight
Unity Point Elementary School – Spotlight

Tamaroa School District 5
Tamaroa Elementary School - Spotlight

Akin Consolidated Community School District 91
Akin Community Consolidated Elementary School - Spotlight

Christopher USD 99
Christopher Elementary School -Spotlight

Ewing-Northern CCSD 115
Ewing Northern Elementary School - Spotlight

Frankfort CUSD 168
Central Junior High – Academic Improvement

Zeigler-Royalton CUSD 188
Zeigler-Royalton Jr. High -Spotlight
Zeigler-Royalton Elementary School -Spotlight

Crab Orchard CUSD 3
Crab Orchard High School – Academic Improvement

Johnston City CUSD 1
Jefferson Elementary School – Spotlight

Marion CUSD 2
Longfellow Elementary School – Spotlight

Cairo CUSD 1
Bennett Elementary School – Spotlight

Egyptian CUSD 5
Egyptian Jr. High – Spotlight
Egyptian Elementary School – Spotlight

Buncombe Consolidated School District 43
Buncombe Consolidated School – Spotlight

New Simpson Hill School District 32
New Simpson Hill School – Spotlight

Massac UD1
Massac Junior High – Spotlight
Brookport Elementary School – Spotlight
Franklin Elementary – Academic Excellence
Metropolis Elementary – Spotlight

Joppa-Maple Grove UD 38
Joppa Jr. & Sr. High – Spotlight
Maple Grove Elementary – Spotlight

Century CUSD 100
Century Jr. High School – Spotlight
Century Elementary School – Spotlight and Academic Improvement

Anna CCSD 37
Davie Elementary School – Spotlight

Cobden SUD 17
Cobden Elementary School – Spotlight
Cobden Junior High – Spotlight

Shawnee CUSD 84 
Shawnee Elmentary School – North – Spotlight
Shawnee Elementary School – South – Spotlight
Shawnee Junior High – Spotlight

The 2008 honor roll roster includes elementary, middle and high schools, including charter schools, and represents 345 school districts statewide. Suburban schools represent 43 percent of the Honor Roll schools, downstate schools account for another 40 percent and Chicago schools make up the final 17 percent this year. The 989 schools earned a total of 1,040 awards in the three categories.

Developed by Northern Illinois University and ISBE in 2003-4, the Illinois Honor Roll is created each year at NIU. A complete listing of the 2008 Illinois Honor Roll Schools can be found online at