For Immediate Release
Tuesday, April 28, 2009

ISBE Invites High School Students to join Advisory Council

Students get up-front view of state education policies and programs

SPRINGFIELD - The Illinois State Board of Education is accepting applications for the Student Advisory Council for the 2009-10 school year. There are currently 10 openings for sophomores, juniors and seniors on the 15-member council.

 ``This is a great opportunity for high school students to learn first-hand how educational policies are developed and implemented,’’ said Christopher A. Koch, Superintendent of Education. ``Students bring new ideas to the table and learn about important policies and programs affecting their lives and those of future students.’’

 Each year, the Student Advisory Council presents research and makes policy recommendations to the Board. Council members are invited to attend Board meetings and sessions of the General Assembly. The students review and critique ISBE’s existing or proposed programs, policies and regulations, as well as inform Illinois students of SAC activities. Students will begin serving in their role by participating in a summit focused on dropout prevention.

 The Student Advisory Council was created in 1975 to bring student concerns to the attention of ISBE. Students who comprise the Student Advisory Council are diverse, representing different geographic locations, ethnic backgrounds, and types of schools. But they possess similar qualities, which include a strong work ethic, ability to think “outside-the-box,’’ and collaborate with others as well as the willingness to set aside time from their busy schedules for SAC work.

 “The students who serve on the Student Advisory Council are some of the best and the brightest in Illinois,’’ said Jesse H. Ruiz, Board Chairman. ``We welcome them and thank them for the valuable insight they bring to the Board.”

 Current council members include: Lindsey Ahrens, senior, McHenry West Campus High School, McHenry;  Jeffrey Barnes, senior; Leland High School, Leland; Kelsea Battefeld sophomore, Meredosia-Chambersburg High School, Meredosia; Sasha Christensen, senior, Willowbrook High School, Villa Park; Laura Collins, senior, Rolling Meadows High School, Rolling Meadows; Brittany and Gabrielle Kendrick, Chicago High School for Agricultural Sciences, Chicago; Alexis Maxwell, junior, Addison Trail High School, Addison; Weston Quivey, senior, Steeleville Community High School, Steeleville, Hannah Rhoades, junior, Auburn High School, Auburn, Shelby Wills, junior, Williamsfield High School, Williamsfield, Sarah Chapman, junior, Indian Creek High School, Shabbona; Skye David, senior, Lawrenceville High School, Lawrenceville; Kendall Hoover, senior, Hinsdale Central High School, Hinsdale; Ryan H. Ornstein, Grayslake North High School, Grayslake.

 Eligibility to apply for the 2009-2010 SAC is limited to public school students. Given the need to hear from students on some of the more complicated issues faced by our state, special consideration will be given to applicants from low-performing schools or districts.

An application is now available online at:
It must be returned to the State Board of Education by 5 p.m., Thursday, May 7.

The mailing address is:
Illinois State Board of Education
Student Advisory Council
100 N. First St.
Springfield, IL 

Activities of the Student Advisory Council in 2009-2010 are contingent upon final State budget allocation.  For more information, contact Andrea Wingo at 217-782-6434 or