For Immediate Release
September 26, 2007

ISBE honors more than 150 outstanding individuals for their service to education

33rd year agency to honor contributions to education at Those Who Excel/Teacher of the Year Program

SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) announced today award recipients that will be singled out for their outstanding service at the 33rd annual Those Who Excel/Teacher of the Year banquet. One hundred and sixty-three outstanding teachers, administrators, student support personnel, educational service personnel and community members will take center stage Saturday, October 13, when they are honored by the Illinois State Board of Education. The highlight of the awards banquet will include the announcement of Illinois Teacher of the Year for 2007-2008.

“These educators and community members represent the thousands of people who support our schools everyday,” said State Superintendent of Education Christopher Koch. “They are working together to help all of our students become successful lifelong learners.”

Candidates are nominated by their local schools and people in their communities. The nomination includes a brief biography of the nominee, his or her philosophy of education, professional development and community involvement and their opinions of the state’s most pressing educational needs. Letters of recommendation are also required.

A committee of peers chooses the award winners. The committee represents statewide education organizations and includes former award winners.

The categories for recognition are:

This year, all levels of awards will be presented at the banquet. There are:

Teacher of the Year finalists comprise all teachers given the Award of Excellence. Finalists sit for a videotaped interview as part of the selection process. The Teacher of the Year serves as the state’s ambassador for teaching and represents Illinois in the National Teacher of the Year programs sponsored by the Council of Chief State School Officers, and ING.

Joe Fatheree, a technology teacher at Effingham High School, District 40, in Effingham is the current Illinois Teacher of the Year.

This year’s Those Who Excel/Teacher of the Year banquet will be held at the Decatur Conference Center & Hotel, 4191 W US Highway 36, Decatur.

A complete list of award recipients can be found online at