ISBE Banner
State of Illinois - Governor Blagojevich 

  ECS  |  CeRTS  |  IWAS | Teachers  | Students  | Administrators   | Student Assessment  | IL Learning Standards  | Programs | FormsGlossary


November 21, 2005


Springfield, Ill. – The State Board of Education has nominated 16 Illinois schools for the National No Child Left Behind – Blue Ribbon Schools Program. K-12 schools were selected for showing academic excellence or for demonstrating dramatic gains in student achievement.

“This program honors schools that have done an exemplary job preparing their students to meet today’s challenges by showing outstanding academic improvement,” said State Superintendent of Education Randy Dunn.

Schools showing improvement in reading and mathematics include: South Elementary School, Des Plaines; York Center Elementary School, Lombard; and Windsor Elementary School, Loves Park.

Schools in the top 10 percent for reading and mathematics performance include: Jones College Prep High School, Chicago; Cambridge Community Grade School, Cambridge; Robert Frost Elementary School, Mount Prospect; Hononegah High School, Rockton; Tremont High School, Tremont; Haines Middle School, St. Charles; Lincoln Middle School, Park Ridge; Butler Junior High School, Oak Brook; Westgate Elementary School, Arlington Heights; Pleasant Hill Elementary School, Winfield; Cherokee Elementary School, Lake Forest; Romona Elementary School, Wilmette; and North Ward Elementary School, Tuscola.

The Blue Ribbon Program requires schools to have at least 40 percent disadvantaged student population and to have dramatically improved on state assessments or schools to score in the top 10 percent on state assessments.

Winners will be announced in September.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program focuses on results and recognizes schools nationwide who have strived to make significant progress in closing the achievement gap and whose students achieve at the highest levels.

Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777