ISBE Banner
State of Illinois - Governor Blagojevich 

  ECS  |  CeRTS  |  IWAS | Teachers  | Students  | Administrators   | Student Assessment  | IL Learning Standards  | Programs | FormsGlossary


November 5, 2003

Seven Chicago-area public schools to be recognized

Seven Chicago-area public schools will be recognized for achievement in face of challenges on Thursday Nov. 6. Each school will receive a plaque recognizing them as a "Spotlight School" - a new program that honors schools across the state as high-achieving schools. These schools have high poverty enrollments.

Selection of the schools is done through methodology established by Northern Illinois University. Two of the schools are from Chicago. Others are from Berwyn, DeKalb, Kankakee and Posen.

WHO:        Six high-achieving/high poverty schools

WHAT:       Recognized by State Board of Education

WHEN:       Thurs., Nov. 6, 7:15 p.m.

WHERE:     NIU Naperville
                 1120 E. Diehl Rd., Naperville (off I-88 and Naperville Road)
                 630-577-9101 (for directions only)

Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777