ISBE Banner
State of Illinois - Governor Blagojevich 

  ECS  |  CeRTS  |  IWAS | Teachers  | Students  | Administrators   | Student Assessment  | IL Learning Standards  | Programs | FormsGlossary


February 28, 2003

Blue Ribbon Schools Nominated

Springfield – The State Board of Education has nominated 16 Illinois schools for the national No Child Left Behind -- Blue Ribbon Schools Program. K-12 schools were selected for showing academic excellence or for demonstrating dramatic gains in student achievement.

This program honors schools that have done a good job preparing their students to meet today’s challenges by showing outstanding academic improvement,” said State Superintendent Robert Schiller.

Schools showing improvement in reading and mathematics include: Brown Elementary School, East St. Louis; Colchester Elementary; Dale Elementary; Eastview Elementary, Canton; Henry Raab Elementary, Belleville; and Shiloh Elementary, Hume.

Schools in the top 10 percent for reading and mathematics performance include: Charter Oak Primary School, Peoria; Dirksen Elementary, Pekin; Frank C. Whiteley Elementary, Hoffman Estates; Henking Elementary, Glenview; Lyon Elementary, Glenview; Medora Elementary;

Riverdale Elementary, Rock Falls; Roosevelt Elementary, Belleville; Silas Willard Elementary, Galesburg and Yates City Elementary

The Blue Ribbon program requires schools to have at least a 40 percent disadvantaged student population and to have dramatically improved on state assessments or schools to score in the top 10 percent on state assessments.

Schools who wish to be considered for the national honor must complete an application by March 7 and submit to the US Department of Education. Winners will be announced in May.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program focuses on results and recognizes schools nationwide who have strived to make significant progress in closing the achievement gap and whose students achieve at the highest levels.

Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777