Technology Literacy Challenge Fund Grant Recipients Selected


September 5, 2001


Ninety Illinois school districts have been selected to receive Technology Literacy Challenge Fund (TLCF) Grants for FY '02, the fifth year of the program.

"The TLCF grants help local schools accelerate their efforts to ensure that today's students are technologically literate," State Superintendent Glenn W. McGee explained. "These federal funds add to our ability to work with schools in integrating technology throughout the curriculum - such efforts will transform teaching and learning to increase student achievement."

The TLCF is specifically designed to help districts with the highest numbers of children in poverty and, therefore, the greatest need. The goals of TLCF are to give all teachers training and support to help their students learn through computers and the Internet, provide up-to-date computers in their classrooms, connect all classrooms to the Internet, and ensure that effective and engaged learning will be an integral part of every school's curriculum.

School districts are selected to receive TLCF funds through a competitive process. Districts could submit applications for no more than two of the three project categories. The categories were as follows: 1) a single district application that includes community partners for a local technology project, 2) a regional application that involves three or more other public school districts in an area served by a Learning Technology Hub for a technology project, and 3) a statewide application that includes participation with public school districts in at least three Learning Technology Hub areas for a technology project.

In this phase of the program, school districts submitted over 300 TLCF proposals. Field reviewers evaluated the proposals and recommended funding for districts in each of the seven Learning Technology Center areas in Illinois. Funds are then distributed based on a formula that takes into account the number of school districts, K-12 students, and low-income children in the Center area.

State Board staff will assist these districts with the implementation of their technology projects.

The following is a list of school districts selected to receive Technology Literacy Challenge Fund Grants for FY '02:

Single District awards by county:

Adams Quincy School District #172 $180,000.00

Bureau La Moille Community Unit School District #303 $45,000.00

Cass A-C Central Community Unit School District #262 $45,000.00

Champaign Fisher Community Unit School District #1 $45,000.00

Champaign Rantoul City School District #137 $90,000.00

Clark Marshall Community Unit District #C-2 $90,000.00

Coles Charleston Community Unit School District #1 $135,000.00

Cook Berwyn North School District #98 $135,000.00

Cook Bloom Township High School District #206 $135,000.00

Cook Brookwood School District #167 $90,000.00

Cook Burnham School District 154-5 $45,000.00

Cook Calumet City School District #155 $90,000.00

Cook City of Chicago School District 299 $4,300,000.00

Cook Sauk Valley School District #168 $90,000.00

Cook Cook County School District #130 $135,000.00

Cook Country Club Hills School District #160 $90,000.00

Cook Lyons Elementary School District #103 $135,000.00

Cook Matteson Elementary School District #162 $135,000.00

Cook Prairie-Hills Elementary School District #144 $135,000.00

Cook Proviso Township High School District #209 $225,000.00

Cook Rich Township High School District #227 $135,000.00

Cook Steger School District #194 $90,000.00

Cook Sunnybrook School District #171 $90,000.00

Crawford Hutsonville Community Unit School District #1 $45,000.00

DuPage Villa Park School District #45 $135,000.00

Franklin Benton Community Consolidated School District #47 $90,000.00

Fulton Avon Community Unit School District #176 $45,000.00

Fulton V.I.T. Community Unit District #2 $45,000.00

Greene Carrollton Community Unit School District #1 $45,000.00

Hardin Hardin County Community Unit District #1 $45,000.00

Henry Galva Community Unit School District #224 $45,000.00

Kane Aurora East Unit School District #131 $225,000.00

Kane Aurora West Unit School District #129 $225,000.00

Kane Geneva Community Unit School District #304 $180,000.00

Kane Elgin School District #46 $225,000.00

Kankakee Bourbonnais School District #53 $135,000.00

Kankakee Bradley School District #61 $90,000.00

Kankakee Kankakee School District #111 $180,000.00

Kendall Yorkville Community Unit School District #115 $135,000.00

Lake Waukegan Community Unit School District #60 $225,000.00

LaSalle Grand Ridge Community Consolidated SD #95 $45,000.00

LaSalle Ottawa Elementary District #141 $135,000.00

Lawrence Lawrence County Community Unit District #20 $90,000.00

Macon Argenta-Oreana Community Unit School District #1 $90,000.00

Macon Decatur School District #61 $225,000.00

Madison Bethalto Community Unit School District #8 $135,000.00

Madison Collinsville Community Unit School District #10 $180,000.00

Madison Madison Community Unit School District #12 $90,000.00

Marion Salem Elementary School District #111 $90,000.00

Marshall Henry-Senachwine Community Unit SD #5 $45,000.00

McDonough Bushnell-Prairie City Community Unit SD #170 $45,000.00

McLean Chenoa Community Unit School District #9 $45,000.00

Montgomery Hillsboro Community Unit School District #3 $135,000.00

Montgomery Litchfield Community Unit School District #12 $90,000.00

Peoria Peoria Schools District #150 $225,000.00

Peoria Pleasant Valley School District #62 $45,000.00

Pike Barry Community Unit School District #1 $45,000.00

Pulaski Century Community Unit School District #100 $45,000.00

Saline Eldorado Community Unit School District #4 $90,000.00

Sangamon Community Unit School District #16 $45,000.00

St. Clair Cahokia Community Unit School District #187 $180,000.00

Stark Stark County Community Unit School District #100 $45,000.00

Stephenson Freeport School District #145 $180,000.00

Tazewell Creve Coeur School District #76 $45,000.00

Vermilion Georgetown-Ridge Farm Community Unit SD #4 $90,000.00

Wayne Fairfield Public School District #112 $45,000.00

Whiteside Rock Falls Elementary School District #13 $135,000.00

Will Crete-Monee Community Unit SD #201U $180,000.00

Will Joliet Public School District #86 $225,000.00

Williamson Herrin Community Unit School District #4 $135,000.00

Winnebago Harlem Consolidated School District #122 $180,000.00

Winnebago Rockford School District #205 $225,000.00

Regional awards by county:

Alexander Alexander ROE #2 $225,000.00

Bureau/Henry/Stark Bureau/Henry/Stark ROE #28 $135,000.00

Champaign Rantoul City Schools District #137 $180,000.00

Cook Rich Township High School District #227 $225,000.00

Franklin/Williamson Franklin/Williamson ROE #21 $225,000.00

Hancock Carthage Community Unit SD #338 $225,000.00

Macoupin Macoupin County ROE #40 $225,000.00

Peoria Peoria County ROE #48 $225,000.00

Randolph Monroe/Randolph ROE #45 $225,000.00

Rock Island Rock Island ROE #49 $225,000.00

Shelby Cowden-Herrick Community Unit SD #3A $180,000.00

Statewide awards by county:

Franklin Franklin/Williamson ROE #21 $225,000.00

Greene Carrollton Community Unit SD #1 $180,000.00

Hardin Hardin County Community Unit SD #1 $135,000.00

Peoria Elmwood Community Unit SD #322 $180,000.00

Peoria Pleasant Valley School District #62 $135,000.00

Stark Stark County Community Unit SD #100 $225,000.00