Ten Illinois schools honored as Blue Ribbon winners



May 31, 2000

(217) 782-4648 or (312) 814-3490

SpringfieldTen Illinois schools have achieved a mark of excellence that’s easy for everyone to see: they have been named 1999-2000 Blue Ribbon Schools.

The award, given annually by the U.S. Department of Education honors schools nationwide that excel in academic leadership, teaching and teacher development and school curriculum. Blue Ribbon schools also display exceptional community and parental involvement, high student achievement and rigorous safety and discipline programs.

The program has honored nearly 4,000 public and private schools nationwide over its 17 years, including 198 this year. Counting this year’s 10 winners, 160 Illinois schools – 126 public and 34 private -- have won the Blue Ribbon awards.

“This is such a significant honor for our schools because the Blue Ribbon award honors the entire community for its work to support their local schools,” said State Superintendent of Education Glenn W. McGee.

“Of course, we at the State Board know that Illinois has many excellent schools. The Blue Ribbon awards are a way of reinforcing what these schools do, sharing their good practices and letting everyone else know what their communities have probably known for a long time,” McGee said.

To be nominated, schools must conduct a thorough self-evaluation involving administrators, teachers, students, parents and community members. The evaluation helps the school assess its strengths and weaknesses and to develop strategic plans.

The State Board of Education then employs outside readers including local school principals, retired administrators, teachers and others familiar with the program to evaluate the nominations. This year, 18 nominations were received and deemed sufficiently successful to be forwarded to the U.S. Department of Education.

The federal education agency reviews all nominees’ applications and then visits those schools that best meet the Blue Ribbon criteria. Finally the federal review panel is reconvened to choose the actual winners.

“These schools are fine examples of places where parents, teachers, administrators and the community have formed partnerships to help all students learn to high standards,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley. “Their hard work should serve as a model for other communities that are deeply concerned about the education of America’s students.”




Alex M. Martino Junior High School
731 East Joliet Highway
Lenox, IL 60451-1997
Phone: (815) 485-7593
Fax: (815) 485-9578

Buffalo Grove High School
1100 West Dundee Road
Buffalo Grove, IL 60089-4097
Phone: (847) 718-4000
Fax: (847) 718-4122

Carl Sandburg Junior High School
2600 Martin Lane
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008-2722
Phone: (847) 963-7800
Fax: (847) 963-7806

Carlinville High School
829 West Main Street
Carlinville, IL 62626-1299
Phone: (217) 854-3104
Fax: (217) 854-5260

Central Junior High School
9400 South Sawyer
Evergreen Park, IL 60805-2328
Phone: (708) 424-0148
Fax: (708) 229-8406

F.E. Peacock Junior High School
301 East North Street
Itasca, IL 60143-1722
Phone: (630) 773-0335
Fax: (630) 285-7460
Website: <>

Field Middle School
2055 Landwehr Road
Northbrook, IL 60062-6498
Phone: (847) 272-6884
Fax: (847) 272-1050
Website: <>

Jefferson Middle School
1115 South Crescent Drive
Champaign, IL 61821-4299
Phone: (217) 351-3787
Fax: (217) 351-3754

Palatine High School
1111 North Rohlwing Road
Palatine, IL 60067-3797
Phone: (847) 755-1600
Fax: (847) 755-1623

Warren Township High School
500 North O'Plaine Road
Gurnee, IL 60031-2641
Phone: (847) 599-4607
Fax: (847) 599-4848